Ford Shelby GT500 Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2020 Shelby GT500 Velocity Blue
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Trunk allignment is off, will have dealer look at soon to see if simple fix, wish I noticed earlier.

Wonder what its from, factory or torque?

·
Moderator/Admin Dude!
2020 CFTP Red! 2011 Kona Blue
32,658 Posts
It’s easy to adjust this yourself. Here is a video I did:

·
Registered
195 Posts
i am a auto body tech.
keep in mind the car isn't a solid block of steel cut by a CNC machine with no tolerances. there will be variances of a couple of mm in dimensions. this is due to assembly line tolerances in both the car body and the removable panels..
i regularly see cars that the sheet metal is 1-2mm longer on one side over the other and i work at a VW body shop that does a lot of high end BMW and MB cars. i recently repaired a audi R8 that had this problem that the owner never noticed.
getting proper sheet metal alignment is almost a art form. sheet metal will never fix EXACTLY perfect. there are compromises to get the approximate fit. you must decide where you want to compromise on fit. the most important thing is make sure the long gaps are straight.
when adjusting sheet metal the first thing i do is remove the latch. the metal can fit perfect but the latch can be off and throw everything off. after than keep in mind moving a panel for the upper right corner will change all the other 3 corners at the same time. you must think in 3 dimensions when adjusting sheet metal.