Ford Shelby GT500 Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone I am a newbie that is trying to decide what my first mods should be and looking for advice on a logical process to improve the HP in my car modestly while not making myself vulnerabe to (very much) warranty scrutiny, and pass emissions here in Phoenix.

The accessories manager at the dealership I bought her at is claiming that there are no long tube headers that are emissions compliant, though I am confused because the American Racing Long Tube headers are able to run through cats. He claimed that without a D.O.T. compliant stamp/number they are not legal.

Also I have looked at the Evo stage 4 performance kit with wanting eyes :devil: but am wondering if the dealer will give me strife if there is an issue with the car later on down the road. In other threads I have read that each dealer handles issues differently which would make sense, but I guess i am curious what you think about the added giggles per mile from the package versus the potential service headaches later down the road. Thanks...

·
Registered
2,466 Posts
I'm crossing my fingers that I won't run into emissions issues with my LT headers. I'm running cats and without putting the car on a lift, you can hardly tell (visually) that I'm running headers. We'll see in about 4 years.

The Evo Stage 4 is insane. I love it. She's a freekin' rocket!

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yea here in Phoenix in times past newer vehicles that I have had tested were only plugged into a computer through the OBD system and had the fuel cap off so I didn't think I should have any problems when that time comes. How is the clearance of the LT headers? Is the exhaust included in the package pretty loud? Thanks..

·
Registered
2,466 Posts