Ford Shelby GT500 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I haven't had my GT500 long. I've read a number of posts about the Shaker 1000 not sounding that great. I also thought it sounded crappy at first myself. I am a little bit of an audiophile. I'm by no means an audio expert. But, I think I have a good idea what it should sound like. I have a room with three very clean old Mistubishi DA amps controlled by a Bel Canto pre amp running 6 Bowers & Wilkins loudspeakers for comparison.

At first I couldn't figure out the shaker 1000. It sounded like crap whatever I did. Then I tried this and it seemed to make all the difference. I think it sounds pretty good now. Or, maybe I have just gotten used to it. I need to go listen to my B&Ws and compare now.

But, if you have the shaker 1000 you might try this:

Shaker set to OFF
Set "Driver, All, Rear" setting to REAR
turn compression off (burned CDs)
Set bass at -1, flat or +1 (personal preference)
Set Treble at flat, +1 or +2 (personal preference)

The key seemed to be setting it to REAR and turning SHAKER OFF. I don't know how the stupid internal controls on the stereo work. I would much rather have manual control over the whole thing. But, this seems to get the job done.

Anyone else have luck setting up the Shaker 1000 differently??

·
Registered
346 Posts
I think the system sounds just fine. I have the shaker on and bass and treble at 2. For a stock system I have no complaints. In fact I just plain love the car zero complaints.

·
Registered
528 Posts
Another new GT500 owner here, and was wondering about just how to set that Shaker 1000 system! Have fiddled with it a bit, and while it no doubt has some volume for sure, it just didn't seem to sound quite right. So thanks for those settings you posted - I'll try those and go from there.

·
Premium Member
1,533 Posts
I also thought it sounded crappy at first myself. I am a little bit of an audiophile.