Ford Shelby GT500 Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2,400 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
In reading the Shelby Maintenance schedule under the GT500 insert for tires and wheels I noticed it was required that these aluminum wheels be retorqued at 100psi after 500 miles. I must say I have never done this before but felt if the manual says it should be done then so be it. Well to my surprise all lug nuts, except locking lugs, required at least 1/4 turn at 100psi.:eek: The significance of this may not be material, but I feel uneven torque on these wheels could be significant given the power we are dealing with. For those who have not done so you may want to give it a try. I used a SNAP-ON torqure wrench in which the calibration was currently certified, and is good to 150psi, for those who may have there doubts. I should mention that I did this procedure after 1100miles

·
Registered
171 Posts
Nice to hear. I remember reading that too, but never thought twice about it. I just bought a torque wrench so I could tighten my locking lugs but never tried the others. I'll do that this evening. I have 1200 miles on mine now. If mine are loose I'll post it also.
Does anyone remember who it was that bought the after market chrome shelby GT500 wheels. I want to know where they got them, so if they fit I want one for a spare. Thanks.

·
Registered
32 Posts
That really torques me off...

Foot-pounds, ft-lbs, not psi.

Loosen first, with a standard wrench, then tighten with the torque wrench. Leave idle wrench stored at a low setting.

·
Registered
2,400 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
That really torques me off...

Loosen first, with a standard wrench, then tighten with the torque wrench. Leave idle wrench stored at a low setting.