Ford Shelby GT500 Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone.
Well Winter is here and up here in the North we have to store our cars for the Winter. I have a few questions since this is my first year with my Beloved GT 500.
I have found a great place to store the car , it is heated and i have access to it with a little notice, ( Very trusted Friend) I have bought Garage Dollys to prevent Flat Spots on the tires
and it makes it a lot easier to move around in the garage.
Here are my questions.
1) Should i disconnect the battery ? ( car will not be started until mid March & I left the Window down 1/2 inch so the door will open if the battery goes dead or disconnected )
2) Do i need to do anything special the 1st time i start it up ?
3) How much Gas should i leave in it?
4) How soon after i take it out of Storage should an Oil change and Coolant Flush be done.
5) Should i do a rear Diff fluid change as well?

·
Premium Member
2007 GT500 Torch Red/White custom
1,085 Posts
I would not disconnect the battery. Get yourself a battery tender that will keep your battery charged and maintained. Store your car with less than a 1/4 tank of gas. When you take the car out in the spring don't go into boost until you have a fresh tank of gas. The oil change can be done either before you put it away or first thing when you pull it out. I don't think the differential is a winter storage thing,do that whenever.

·
Moderator/Admin Dude!
2020 CFTP on order 2011 Kona Blue/white
32,370 Posts