Ford Shelby GT500 Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently bought a 09 and am looking to do some mods this summer. If Anyone can educate me or point me in the right direction on what these tunes are all about. I am very new to this technology and it is alot different then what I am used to. From what I gather you can't even put a cold air intake on these cars without having to do a tune. If someone could break it down for me or just put up some links where I could read about how to input these tunes and where to get them? I appriciate the help and realize that someone else has probably gone over this before.

Thanks,

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
For instance the JLT Carbon fiber intake and SCT tuner package. Is this a decent package and does it include everything I need to complete the upgrade.

·
Registered
662 Posts
For instance the JLT Carbon fiber intake and SCT tuner package. Is this a decent package and does it include everything I need to complete the upgrade.
I like the Ford Racing parts because they fit under my strut bar. It's all up to you on what kind of CAI you use, but I would stay away from the K & N. Visit Lethal Performance, VMP, and Ford racing....shopping for upgrades is half the fun. There is a wealth of info on this site so read up and welcome.

Brent

·
Premium Member
1,416 Posts
Rmg32,
The engine and several other components are computer controlled. Any changes you make from where air enters through where it leaves the exhaust requires a new tune (program) for optimum performance.

Tunes for some changes are more critical than others. New mufflers are prob not as critical as a CAI or super charger (sc) pulley.