Ford Shelby GT500 Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My brand new GT500's clutch has stopped functioning at 1700 kms (1050 miles). The clutch earlier has a light hissing sound when depressed and while driving on the 3rd gear. Now it is just impossible to shift any gear as the gears grind during shifting.

I am based in Dubai. When I took the car to the only ford dealer in Dubai, I was informed that they will need to disassemble the transmission & clutch to diagnose the problem, only after which can they confirm warranty. I was also intimated that in a scenario that clutch plates are burnt, the bill for repairs estimated at USD 8K will have to footed by me.

I have read a few threads about the Clutch Drag on this forum and request your assistance as I am an absolute novice about this car. I have managed to get a copy of the TSB which I tried to reason with the dealer.

Can you please suggest what I should do??

Cheers.......

·
Registered
2,768 Posts
The dealer should replace the clutch and flywheel plate under warranty. Not sure how that works overseas.

If the dealer 'won't ' touch it under warranty, I wouldn't pay $8000 to replace, I would put in an aftermarket clutch such as a Centerforce and replace the flywheel w/ a factory piece.

That sucks that they aren't working w/ you better.

·
Registered
1,132 Posts
My brand new GT500's clutch has stopped functioning at 1700 kms (1050 miles). The clutch earlier has a light hissing sound when depressed and while driving on the 3rd gear. Now it is just impossible to shift any gear as the gears grind during shifting.

Can you please suggest what I should do??

Cheers.......
Just curious - what is the build date of your car? It is posted on a label affixed to your driver's side door jam. I understand that cars built after 8/27/2008 have the new flywheel that the TSB installs. Your dealer should fix whatever is wrong under warranty.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4