Ford Shelby GT500 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 85 Posts

·
Moderator/Admin Dude!
2020 Rapid Red/black 2011 Kona Blue/white
31,680 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Ok, so here's my install thread. Let me preface this with I am NO mechanic. I've changed some spark plugs on my mower and that's about it. I am fairly handy and can figure most things out, but it takes me at least twice as long and mistakes are made along the way. With that being said, the FR750 kit comes with some decent instructions. Unfortunately they are black and white which makes it difficult to see some of the pictures. Some pictures have a dark arrow on a dark background and you can't really see what they are pointing at. After my install, I spoke with Jeff at Whipple who apparently made the instructions. I pointed out a few errors and they may have them fixed for the next guy. He also said he could email out the COLOR INSTRUCTIONS! That would have been good to know prior to the install. I did find a couple threads on various chat sites that helped, but none were all inclusive. Also, the 2011+ 500s are slightly different.

So let's get started. First the kit:

It looks fantastic!

Next, protect the car:

Before you do anything else, move your driver's side electric seat all the way forward so you are not cursing later trying to install your fuel pump with no space once the battery is pulled. (happened to me)

Note, the instruction manual switches back and forth between inch pounds and foot pound for your torque wrench! Make sure you watch for this.

Take off radiator cover. Black plastic push in pins pop up to release.

The installation steps from the manual:
1. Blow off engine with air hose to get rid of debris. If dirty, steam clean.