Ford Shelby GT500 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys...

I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to doing mods on cars. I just bought a M-5230-5GT exhaust (borla/frpp) for the GT500.

I managed to remove the original exhaust without much effort. The driver side exhaust installed fine and looks good and pretty centered. My problem is the passenger side exhaust. It's off center and close to touching the diffuser (maybe .5" away). Try as I might, I could not adjust it to be anything close to centered.

Is this something I did wrong or is the exhaust faulty? Should I send it back or just have a shop fix it for me?

Thanks for any suggestions!

Jason

·
Premium Member
867 Posts
Well I to started my install in my garage and one side which I don't remember was kicking my ass going on... so I said a few choice words... put the factory back on and took it to my local exhaust shop. I drove the car up on the lift where you can stand under it and work (so much better than on your back) and he had the old off and the new on in like 30 minutes or maybe even less. One side was not centered so he took his torch heated up the hanger a little than pushed it to the center until I gave the thumbs up... he held it there for about a minute let go...and it has been there ever since. Total cost I think about 30 bucks...was it worth it... YES.

My 2 cents unless you have a lift and torch... take it somewhere BUT make sure where to take it you let them know your standing back there with the car... even if it is ourside there garage door for insurance reasons DON'T turn it loose and stay up front reading Car & Driver wondering what is going on.. plus with you there watching it also assures a better install. I took pictures while mine was going on. :)

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3