Ford Shelby GT500 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 70 Posts

· Moderator/Admin Dude!
2020 CFTP Red! 2011 Kona Blue
54,197 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Per Nick’s advice, I am reaching out to the members to see what options they like for a Superduty tow vehicle. I am looking to get a 2023 F350 SRW long bed truck this year. I will likely stick with the standard 6.7 diesel. I was leaning towards a Platinum, but learned late last night that Platinum and Limited orders are shut down for the year.

So far, my wish list is:

F350 SRW
Crew cab
8’ box
Paint: red or blue
6.7L turbo diesel (standard version)
Spray in bed liner
Retractable bed cover
Gooseneck hitch

· Registered
6,417 Posts
Incredible orders are shut down for the year.

I'm not a towing expert, so the specifics should be defined by more seasoned veterans but here's some:

1. Rear Gear: Seems to be several options, but looks like it locks you down to the 3.31 with the standard 6.7? Certainly upgrade to the electronic diff lock.
2. Alternator: There's several options there... bigger is always better?
3. Seems as thought he towing technology package is not that expensive ($925) and may be worth the upgrade? Easy to spend others' money...
4. Pro Power onboard - Do you haul a generator? May be nice to have mobile power onboard. Again, spending your money.
5. Gooseneck - I'd research factory installed vs aftermarket.
6. Spray-In Liner - As I mentioned on the other post, go aftermarket. My Line-X is worlds better than factory.
7. Air Bags - You can feel this out over time, but my buddy put bags on his Cummins for pulling a camper. Really helped level out and making driving dynamics better.

· Premium Member
2014 GT500 Ruby Red
874 Posts