Ford Shelby GT500 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, new to the GT500 here and looking for some information, just have some questions.

I see the heat exchanger for the supercharger (?) has a different resevoir than the radiator. Do they use the same coolant or differnt? If so what kind/color/brand is each?

Anyone have a breakdown of the coolant flow in these cars at all? (just curious)

Oil...does the blower run off of the engine oil, or does it have its own internal resevoir like the 03/04 Cobra Eaton's had. If so where is the drain plug for it, on the front also (like the terminators)?

How often do you all flush the coolant and change the blower oil?

·
Premium Member
865 Posts
Bump....I'm new to this car too and have a lot to learn. There sure isn't much info in the owner's manual. Seems like theres a lot of info on this site if you know what you're looking for. At least I got the right engine oil for it so far from Rouch Performance.

·
Registered
1,382 Posts
Hey all, new to the GT500 here and looking for some information, just have some questions.

I see the heat exchanger for the supercharger (?) has a different resevoir than the radiator. Do they use the same coolant or differnt? If so what kind/color/brand is each?
They use the same coolant, motorcraft gold, but the intercooler uses only straight coolant..no water.

Anyone have a breakdown of the coolant flow in these cars at all? (just curious)
Picture attached

Oil...does the blower run off of the engine oil, or does it have its own internal resevoir like the 03/04 Cobra Eaton's had. If so where is the drain plug for it, on the front also (like the terminators)?
should have a plug at the front of the sc to change oil

How often do you all flush the coolant and change the blower oil?
Change as recommended by service manual