Ford Shelby GT500 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
134 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright...so because I am negatively surprised by my tires performance, and because I am too cheap to buy new summer tires when my Goodyears have tons of tread left, I've been doing some carefully recorded studies since July, 2018 and taking extensive notes on my Goodyear F1 Supercar G2 tires in various temperatures - OEM equipment on GT500's since at least 2011, and possibly before. Here's what I found regarding the stock Goodyear F1 Supercar G2 tires, with at least 6/32" tread left on 265/40-19" fronts, and 285/35-20" rears on my 2011 GT500:

1) Forget 40 degrees F being the cold cutoff temp for this tire. If you want near full performance of these tires, the ambient temp must be at least above 70 F. At as high as 65 degrees F, even with normal driving (non-burnout) on public roads for an hour beforehand to get tires to operational temps, you will notice a degradation in performance, that becomes even more noticeable below 60 degrees F. If the ambient temp gets below 50 degrees F, the tire is flat out dangerous and grip precarious. Below 40, there is a manufacturer's note saying do not MOVE the car...let that sink in. Not "do not drive" the car...but "do not MOVE it!" The rubber on the tires actually can crack below 40 degrees F, risking a blowout (despite Goodyear denying this) and as for grip? There is about as much grip on these tires when ambient temp is under 40 degrees F as driving on rims. Any hint of gas in any gear at all and you'll spin.