Ford Shelby GT500 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, I'm a newbie to his forum, but not to Mustangs. I have a 1966 GT conv (289 4 speed) and a 2006 GT conv with a Saleen SC. My question is about dealer mark ups. I know the huge debate about that dealers should not be doing it, and I agree... but in order to get a GT500 it seems you gotta pay to play, so I do not want to get into that debate (please). So my question is how much? My dealer has a GT500 they can order for me and they said 15K over sticker. Is that the going rate? or am I getting hosed?
Thanks for any feedback.
Mike

·
Registered
2,466 Posts
It really comes down to what YOU are willing to pay. I know folks who paid $20K over MSRP and don't regret it a bit.

In the Denver area, ADMs are still between $10K and $20K over. It kind of depends on where you are too. It seems rural areas have lower ADMs, and places like SoCal are still very high.

Personally, I think $15K over is a bit high, but that's just me.

Welcome to board! You've got a nice stable there. Hope you can land a GT500 at a price you're willing to pay!

·
Registered
150 Posts
Echo the points by rpretzel above and I'll add a few more.
Excellent decision to order a GT500 but $15K over sticker is too much.
Spend an hour or two calling other dealers. Even better, make a personal visit to multiple dealers in person, best done at a time of day/week when the dealers are not too busy.

What I did a year ago was I took a weekday off work and visited about 12 dealers within 100 miles of my home......I introduced myself to the Sales Mgr. at each dealer.... at each dealer I made every Sales Mgr. the same offer of $5K over sticker for a GT500 build/allocation and left my card (Despite the fact that most of the dealers I visited at the time were quoting $15K to $20K premiums if they were willing to specify an ADM $ figure at all).