Ford Shelby GT500 Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have been entertaining buying a GT500 for a few months now, but there's a few things I don't quite understand. The standard GT500 has a Shelby logo on the trunk and a snake on the front grill and sides, the dealers advertise it as a Shelby product, (some of these dealers have actually told me the car is sent to Shelby in Vegas and then to them, Not SO!) but unlike my 1967 GT500, Shelby doesn't seem to have anything to do with this car. Yea, he collected a bunch of money to put his logo on it, but that is about it. Seems to be an all SVT car produced in Flint Michigan. Kind of like the BOSS CAMMER car in the 70's. This car is not touched by Shelby American at all. I know the car makes plenty of power, but what will the value of this car be in 10 or 20 years. Bottom line is, I can afford this but not a KR, and I don't have the extra money to send it to Vegas to have it warmed over by Shelby American. Any thoughts would be appreciated. It's this or a Hemi Challenger SRT8. And before you all get mad at me, I am a Mustang fan at heart, I've had 8 of them over the years. Heck, it was my first car in 1966.

·
Registered
150 Posts
The current (MY'07-'09) GT500 was created via a collaboration between Carroll Shelby and Ford SVT......The Man himself, even now @ 85 years young was principal advisor on the project.

I recall it said during development of this car that an engine output of at least 450-horsepower was one of Shelby's hardware pre-requisites (a goal which was surpassed by more than 10%; the prod. version GT500 attained certified 500HP).

Besides the engine, other unique components to the GT500 include suspension, brakes, steering, transmission, interior seating, hood constructed of aluminum-- among various other body appearance enhancements and interior quality upgrades.