Ford Shelby GT500 Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Good evening forum

Well I finally got a free day to install the AFCO dual HE (purchased used from a forum member) and 3xs res (purchased from VMP). This was my first real car project, I did some work on a 79 corvette but mostly just grinding down and re painting the frame. So I'm pretty proud of this.

I reference Goose's install thread as well as VMPs install video (
).

Lessons learned.. I would have installed the stock pump on the HE before putting it in, in Justin's video he mentioned he likes to install it afterwards, which ended up being a knuckle buster for me (but I'm a noob). I also used a Dewalt impact to remove and install a bunch of the nuts and bolts. Which ended up biting me in the ass a bit because I torqued one clean off. Looking for some advice on how to fix that.. See pictures below for more info.

Edit: I also ended up with a harness with dual relays and dual fuses (which is a happy coincidence) but I was not sure how to mount the extra fuse and relay. So please take a look at the pictures below with the blue circles and let me know if they're in a bad spot.

Thanks again to Justin from VMP for the video!

Attachments

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
The bolt I torqued off is one of the two that retains the bumper to the car itself. You can see which one it is in the pictures below. I tried to push the bolt back through with an allen wrench and a hammer but could not get it to go. Any advice on how to get the old one out and new one in?

Attachments

·
Registered
2,413 Posts
EZ out. Drill a center hole in bolt tap in driver with reverse fluting and remove.

Might be able to get one at Sears or NAPA on a Sunday.

Hard part is drilling the hole, get a good drill bit made for hi strength steel.

I posted a link on Amazon above

·
Banned
9,880 Posts