Ford Shelby GT500 Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I hope everyone had a good Thanksgiving, but I need some advise. I am new to the Shelby GT500, I purchased a 2008 with 14,000 miles on it last month. I posted a picture of the engine yesterday on Facebook gt500 group and I was told that it had a few upgrades and did i get a tuner with it from the dealer. I did not receive such an item! I am asking for any help that I can receive, I live in Grenville South Carolina wondering as to who when I need anything done to it that is reliable. I also need to know do I need to purchase a tuner and if so what would you recommend, Thanks in advance below is a picture of the engine.

·
Moderator/Admin Dude!
2020 Rapid Red/black 2011 Kona Blue/white
30,521 Posts
I see an intake, smaller pulley and aux idler (to get more belt wrap on smaller upper supercharger pulley). Your car should be tuned for these mods, but without the tuner and without knowing the seller, you have no way of verifying it as is. You have options at this point.

One option is to take it to a local performance shop that is familiar with these cars and have it run on the dyno. Make sure it is a competent shop that knows these cars and that they monitor your engine’s parameters while on the dyno. They very well could find your car has been properly tuned for your mods. They could also find that it hasn’t been properly tuned. You may be able to get a dyno tune while there, but they may also try to up-sell you on their tune even though yours is quite adequate.

Another option is to buy a handheld tuner and contact a mail-order tuner familiar with these cars. They will send you a baseline tune for your mods and then have you data-log your car to dial-in the tune.

In any event, I’d recommend staying out of boost until you figure out the tune. A car that hasn’t been properly tuned for its mods can end with a dead engine after hitting hard boost.

·
Registered
9 Posts