Ford Shelby GT500 Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just took delivery of my 08 GT500 Vapor with black stripes. I want to put a set of black colored rims with a policsed lip on it cuz i think it would look wicked. I am not a big fan of upgrading to 20 inch rims but wanted to hear from those who have done it and what your thoughts are. Did the ride get noticeably worse or not and was there any difference in handling?

·
Registered
1,379 Posts
I'm no expert, but the gist ot it was that in comparing the SuperSnake to KR, that the 20"s were felt to contribute to some of its shortcomings (of the SS) (handling & traction) from what I recall.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply. I found that thread and read it and it is interesting. I was hoping to get some first hand opinions from those who have put the 20 inch rims on.

·
Registered
483 Posts
I have 20" True Forged wheels. Ride is rougher..noticeable at first, but not now...never crosses my mind. I think the look far outweighs the slightly rougher ride...this car needs 20's IMO. I didn't notice a handling difference...then again, I have EVO's ultimate lowering package and tokico d-specs.

·
Premium Member
2,286 Posts
I'm using the same evo suspension but stuck with the stock 18" wheels...this will be the first sports car I did not put 20" wheels on...

·
Registered
639 Posts
IMO...20" look like azz on any muscle car

facts...with 20" you will loose some gear, your ride will be rougher, you will go through tires "slightly" faster.

That is all please drive through

·
Registered
201 Posts
IMO...20" look like azz on any muscle car

facts...with 20" you will loose some gear, your ride will be rougher, you will go through tires "slightly" faster.

That is all please drive through