Ford Shelby GT500 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The transmission in a friends 08 GT500 makes a noise when the clutch is released and the transmission is in neutral, she has taken it to the dealership who told her they removed the transmission and found insufficient lube in the pilot bearing. I am an ASE Master Certified Tech, and have rebuilt numerous manual AND automatic transmissions over the years including 5 and 6 speeds. The noise in my opinion is the input shaft to mainshaft bearing or the input shaft front bearing, the noise is worse when the trans is in neutral sitting still and goes away when you push the clutch in. I haven't driven the car yet, she lives in another town, but I asked her to bring the car to me so I can drive it.
Just was curious if anyone else has had this problem?
Thanks,
Sid

·
Registered
483 Posts
Yeah...mine fuggin' does it when in neutral sitting still..push in the clutch...it stops...only 100 miles on it.:flame: I kind of thought if I ignore it that it will go away...not happening!:ack: Is it just an annoyance thing or is it a functional problem??

I also noticed and am not sure if this has anything to do with it. When in neutral it surges from 750-900 on a regular basis...at 750 rpms. it makes a chattering noise that seems to be coming from my idler pulley (I have the Evo stage II) at 900 rpms...no noise. The noise is noticeable inside the car and very noticeable outside of it...almost sounds like a diesel. Someone mentioned it may be a vacume leak on my Jlt cai.

·
Registered
1,655 Posts
The release bearing is called a CSC bearing. That is the Concentrick Slave cylinder. Mine had to be replaced. Here are some sound clips of the problem I had.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #6